beginning of content:

The William U. Harris Award of Excellence recognizes an individual whose institution is a member of the Middle States Regional Assembly and who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills in the field of education. Named for William U. Harris, the Middle States regional executive director from 1990 to 2001, the award is given annually to an educator whose work exemplifies Bill’s spirit and character.

2016 William U. Harris Award of Excellence Recipient:
Arsallah Shairzay, Dean of Early College and Advanced Placement Program®, Friendship Collegiate Academy Carter G. Woodson Campus, Washington, DC

Arsallah Shairzay has transformed the Advanced Placement and Early College programs at Friendship Collegiate Academy into nationally recognized models of equity, access, and excellence. His ability to understand what it takes to provide college opportunities has had an immeasurable impact on the lives of thousands of students and the educational landscape of the District of Columbia.

The Bernard P. Ireland Recognition Award is the highest individual award that is given to Middle States Regional Assembly members. Named for Bernard P. Ireland, one of the original incorporators of the College Board and the first director of the Northeastern Regional Office (the predecessor of the Middle States Regional Office and New England Regional Office), this award recognizes an individual who shares Bernard’s commitment to improving humanity through education.

2016 Bernard P. Ireland Recognition Award Recipient:
Rodney Morrison,  Associate Provost for Enrollment and Retention Management, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY

Throughout his career in higher education, Rodney Morrison has prioritized student success, advocating for students, finding the right fit, and energizing them to get into college, stay in college, and graduate. He is innovative and compassionate, and his work has made a positive difference in the lives of many young students and their families.