beginning of content:

The Access and Diversity Collaborative is a College Board initiative established in the immediate wake of the 2003 U.S. Supreme Court decisions in the University of Michigan cases. The Collaborative provides guidance to colleges, universities, and state systems of higher education in developing and implementing their access- and diversity-related policies.

Since 2004, the Collaborative has sponsored more than 30 national seminars attended by more than 1,500 representatives from nearly 400 institutions and organizations. The Collaborative also provides policy and legal guidance on diversity-related issues through numerous guides and policy briefs that address key strategic planning and policy development issues.

Team Members


EducationCounsel, LLC (an affiliate of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP) is the College Board's principal partner in providing strategic counsel and substantive content regarding the relevant legal, policy, and practice issues central to the ADC's mission. EducationCounsel is a mission-based education consulting firm that combines experience in policy, strategy, law, and advocacy to drive significant improvements in the U.S. education system from pre-K through college and career. EducationCounsel’s work in higher education focuses on issues ranging from access and opportunity to those associated with quality and completion. Learn more about EducationCounsel.

Arthur L. "Art" Coleman
Managing Partner and Co-Founder, EducationCounsel LLC

Wendell Hall
Senior Director, Higher Education Outreach & Partnerships, The College Board

Scott R. Palmer
Managing Partner and Co-Founder, EducationCounsel LLC

Martha Pitts
Executive Director, Higher Education Strategic Partnerships & Initiatives, The College Board

Richard W. Riley
Senior Partner, EducationCounsel LLC

David M. Dixon
Senior Policy Advisor

Sponsors and Supporters

The Access and Diversity Collaborative is grounded in both reality and the law. This is accomplished through an operating structure that includes representatives from sponsoring College Board member institutions and other higher education organizations, as well as individuals with a detailed understanding of the legal issues involved. Truly a collaborative effort, institutions of higher education, organizations and foundations support this work and lend their expertise to advance the access and diversity goals of higher education.

Sponsoring Institutions and Systems

  • Austin College
  • Barnard College
  • Boston College
  • Bryn Mawr College
  • Cornell University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Davidson College
  • Emerson College
  • Florida International University
  • Florida State University
  • Guilford College
  • Hamilton College
  • Indiana University
  • James Madison University
  • Kenyon College
  • Miami University
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Northeastern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Pomona College
  • Princeton University
  • Purdue University
  • Rice University
  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Smith College
  • Southern Methodist University
  • Stanford University
  • Syracuse University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Arizona
  • University of California-Irvine
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California Office of the President
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Florida
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Maryland–College Park
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota–Twin Cities
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of San Francisco
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of the Pacific
  • University of Tulsa
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Vermont
  • University of Washington
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Vassar College
  • Virginia Tech
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • Wellesley College
  • Wesleyan University

Sponsoring Organizations

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers
  • American Council on Education
  • American Dental Education Association (ADEA)
  • Association of American Colleges & Universities
  • Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
  • Center for Institutional and Social Change
  • Law School Admission Council (LSAC)
  • National Association for College Admission Counseling
  • National Association of College and University Attorneys
  • National Association of Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA)
  • National School Boards Association
  • University of California Center for Enrollment Research, Policy, and Practice